a family who picks together… sticks together

d1

So…Saying that I come from a family jam packed with annual traditions may be a vast understatement….Actually I’m sure it is…and I’m pretty sure my husband would more then agree…I have to keep reminding him that he knew what kind of celebratory crazy family he was marrying into…Okay so maybe some of that crazy came out after he said I do…Surprise! Anyways…Every year for as long as I can remember my family (aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents, parents, siblings…I think I covered them all for ya there;) loaded up and headed out to pick what ever was not growing in my Grandparent’s garden.

This year (here I go again)  my parents, sisters, nieces, nephews, and children got to partake in this glorious tradition. Our first stop was at a little farm we had not visited before…Coburg Hillview Farm. We were greeted there by one of the friendliest ol’farmers I’d every had the privilege of saying howdy to. From there we were off to Detering Orchards. Oh how I love this place! There is so many varieties of produce to u-pick and I even picked up a few farm fresh veggies for dinner from their stand…Oh and some honey…I can’t forget the honey! Before heading out we picnicked and the Youngins played on the farm inspired playground until they ran out of charm…or was that until I ran out of patience…Let’s just say we stayed until it was time to go;) Tomorrow we will be back together again…putting our berries to use and carrying out yet another family tradition…making jam.

I think that every time I share about a family tradition I say that it is one of my favorites…but it’s true…They all are one of my favorites. I am so grateful to come from a family who treasures simple moments and desires to create a celebration out of the smallest of things…Bringing home a little summer bounty by the bucket loads just so happens to be one of those things. Let it be said…A family who picks together…Sticks together.

Leave a Reply

