my heart overflows

This morning as I sat in that wonderful moment of quite before the business of the day my thoughts turned to my little family. I began to think about all the simple things that they had done recently throughout their day that brought joy to mine. I don’t always stop to think about these things. I don’t always remember to take the time to be truly grateful for the gifts they have given me. My mind is often distracted by the business of the moments in between. I thanked God this morning for that moment of quite…be it ever so brief…because it was just long enough for me to reflect…to ponder…to get lost is in the beauty of the simplicity of the love and life we have created together. A life that is shared by what we daily pour into one another. A life filled with moments of ‘just because” and “I was thinking of you”. Moments that are not of ourselves but of the other. Moments that tell us that the other had been listening to what makes our heart sing and saw what it was that makes it overflow. These are just a few of those simple moments that were uniquely created to be poured into mine….just because they thought it would bring me joy…and it did!

My husband rescued a beautifully twisted fallen branch for me that he had discovered on the forest floor…because he thought it would bring me joy…and it did

My son brought me home a tattered and treasured crow feather he found on his walk in the woods…because he thought it would bring me joy…and it did

My daughter picked me a bouquet of stinky old Queen Ann’s lace which still held it’s roots…because she  thought it would bring me joy…and it did

My husband took a moment out of his busy day to slow dance with me…because he thought it would bring me joy…and it did

My son wrote me the sweetest little book about love…because he thought it would bring me joy…and it did

My daughter sang me a song full of her own simple words…because she thought it would bring me joy…and it did

My God gave me three beautiful hearts that know just how to pour into mine…because he knew it would bring me joy…and it does

Leave a Reply

